Greater Than Your Heart

Within the past year, at times I tend to run off my emotions. Do not get me wrong, emotions are great. They are wonderful indicators and warning signs of what is happening. However, from experiences I know that running off of emotions only fog our thinking and never ends well. I was given the wisdom from a friend, Liza, about three things that are on our spiritual train; faith, facts and feeling.Faith should lead, facts come second and feelings follow behind.” I try my best to sort out facts and faith from my emotions, but I am not always successful. I was recommended to watch Judah Smith’s teaching titled, “Greater Than Your Heart“. The principles of this teaching have totally shaped my spiritual and mental well-being. Prior to listing to this teaching, I found myself thinking, “”God, I am so unworthy.” “God, I can’t give you the praise you deserve.” “God, I feel like I am not good enough in everything I do.””. These are all feelings. From here on out I am choosing to act in faith and facts over my feelings.  Sure, these thoughts will and have returned but I can replace them with the truth of God. God’s word says, “For though the righteous fall seven times, they rise again, but the wicked stumble when calamity strikes.” Proverbs 24:16 Despite how I “feel” I will rise again. I can’t rise on my own strength but God’s! I repeat, despite how you feel, you will rise again! You can’t rise on your own strength but God’s!

arrowvector

I encourage everyone to listen to this teaching. If you don’t have time to watch the full 45 minutes, at least watch the last 15 minutes.

“Greater Than Your Heart” – Judah Smith from The City Church on Vimeo.

“When God gives up on me then I can give up, but he won’t give up.”– Judah Smith

arrowvector

19 This is how we know that we belong to the truth and how we set our hearts at rest in his presence: 20 If our hearts condemn us, we know that God is greater than our hearts, and he knows everything. 21 Dear friends, if our hearts do not condemn us, we have confidence before God 22 and receive from him anything we ask, because we keep his commands and do what pleases him. 23 And this is his command: to believe in the name of his Son, Jesus Christ, and to love one another as he commanded us. 24 The one who keeps God’s commands lives in him,and he in them. And this is how we know that he lives in us: We know it by the Spirit he gave us1 John 3:19-24

mountain

♥Melanie

Leave a Reply

