A Teacher’s Prayer

MelanieToddEngagement-63
Photo Credit: Adrianna Joy Photography

 

I first drafted this blog at the beginning of a new school year. That is when I begun my last step of college and student teaching. Every morning I prayed this prayer on my drive to work. As I approach the last month of school I have a new role, a substitute teacher. This prayer is still on my focus because honestly I have no idea what my class will need that day but the awesome thing is that the Lord knows!

doublearrowvector

Lord,

My students are your children. You know them by name. 

Enable me to be aware of each of their needs. 

Help me to be exactly what they need each day.

If they need extra love, may I love them like you love them.

If they need discipline, may I give them correction.

If they need forgiveness, may I be forgiving.

If they need to be encouraged, may I encourage them. 

If they need to explore, may I give them time to discover.

If they need to be nurtured, may I be like their mother.

I do not know what each of my students need but you do.

Help me to see needs and meet them in your strength.

Thank you for allowing me to take care of your children.  

Amen. 

doublearrowvector

 In Christ, Melanie

Leave a Reply

